School of Communication Arts

Loading the player...

Asbury University recognizes that communication competence is vital to success in every field and strongly encourage the development and understanding of a Christian philosophy of communication. The objective of the Communication Arts Department is to prepare students to communicate truthfully and effectively in this age of diversity.

The School of Communication Arts includes two departments with multidimensional majors: the Department of Communication, Worship & Theatre Arts and The Department of Media, Journalism & Digital Storytelling. The School of Communication Arts offers an M.A. in Communication Arts with an emphasis in Digital Storytelling. This graduate program overlaps with the undergraduate media program, allowing undergraduate students to earn an M.A. in one additional year.

Department of Communication, Worship and Theatre Arts Majors

The Communication major has concentrations in:

  • Public Relations 
  • Social Media
  • Leadership
  • International Communication

The Worship Arts major has concentrations in:

  • Music
  • Drama 
  • Visual Arts

The Theatre & Cinema Performance major has concentrations in:

  • Acting 
  • Musical Theatre 

Department of Media, Journalism & Digital Storytelling

The Media Communication major has concentrations in:

  • Media Performance
  • Television & Video Production 
  • Entertainment Management
  • Film
  • Production Design
  • Multimedia
  • Audio Production

The Journalism major.

Online Program: Instructional Design

Graduate Program: M.A. in Communication Arts: Digital Storytelling

Graduate Program: Master of Fine Arts*

  • Screenwriting
  • Film & Television Production


*Pending SACS approval