School of Communication Arts – Asbury University
Shapemaximize playTriangle

Asbury University recognizes that communication competence is vital to success in every field and strongly encourages the development and understanding of a Christian philosophy of communication. The objective of the Communication Arts Department is to prepare students to communicate truthfully and effectively in this age of diversity.

The School of Communication Arts includes two departments with multidimensional majors: the Department of Communication & Theatre Arts and The Department of Media, Journalism & Digital Storytelling. The School of Communication Arts offers an M.A. in Communication Arts with an emphasis in Digital Storytelling, as well as an M.F.A. in Screenwriting and an M.F.A. in Film and Television Production. These graduate programs overlap with the undergraduate media program, allowing undergraduate students to earn an M.A. in one additional year.

Departments & Majors

Communication & Theatre Arts Department

Department Homepage

The Communication major has concentrations in:

  • Public Relations 
  • Social Media
  • Leadership
  • International Communication

The Theatre Arts major provides opportunities to focus on acting or technical theatre.

Health Communication major (Traditional Undergraduate)

Online Health Communication major (Online Programs)

Department of Media, Journalism & Digital Storytelling

Department Homepage

The Media Communication major has concentrations in:

Journalism major

Instructional Design major

Online Programs

Graduate Programs

Master of Arts (M.A.)

Master of Fine Arts (M.F.A.)