Asbury Celebrates Academic Excellence at Honors Convocation – Asbury University
Shapemaximize playTriangle
Watch The College Tour
Contact Us

Asbury Celebrates Academic Excellence at Honors Convocation

April 30, 2019

WILMORE, Ky. — Asbury University honored seniors and faculty during the annual Honors Convocation Chapel Monday morning. During the convocation, academic excellence and spiritual vitality were in the forefront as outstanding seniors were awarded for their academic performance and servant leadership. Faculty dressed in academic regalia for the event, honoring a long-held tradition originating in medieval universities. View a full list of awardees below.

Asbury President Sandra C. Gray opened the convocation with a word of prayer.

“The Christian is to not only live in obedience to Christ, but we are also called to serve Christ through the development of distinctively Christian minds and a Christian worldview,” Gray said. “Our commitment to academic excellence and spiritual vitality means that serious thinking is a way of loving God and loving people.”

A procession of faculty was led by Dr. Gerald Miller and Dr. Burnam Reynolds ‘70. Students Maggie Richwine ‘20, Demarion Johnson ‘21 and Hannah Becht ‘21 served as heraldry bearers during the ceremony.

Provost Timothy Wooster made remarks before awards for the 2018-2019 academic year were given out by professors from each respective department.

“Part of the mission of Asbury University is to equip students through academic excellence and spiritual vitality so that they can engage their cultures and advance the cause of Christ around the world,” Wooster said. “Today, we celebrate the many ways that you have demonstrated our collective commitment to these ideals as we highlight the academic achievements of our student body. We regard academic achievement as the stewardship of the gifts and talents that God has given us and also as an active form of worship.”

Please join us in congratulating the members of the Merciful Class of 2019 for their academic achievements and persistent pursuit of spiritual vitality.

Student Honors

Department of Ancient & Modern Languages (Outstanding Seniors)

Ancient Languages: Leah Bowshier

French: Elizabeth Morgan

Spanish: Bailey Crouch

Art Department

Art & Design Merit Award: Austin Zweifel

Art & Faith Award: Caroline Gates

Dayton School of Business

Student of the Year, Accounting: Ian Tan 

Student of the Year, Business Management: Samuel Clif Conley 

Student of the Year, Marketing: Kaylee Van Winkle 

Student of the Year, Sport Management: Austin Baker 

Professors Choice Award: Milcah Cobb 

Outstanding Student of the Year: Alexandria George 

Christian Studies & Philosophy Department

Outstanding Achievement in Bible & Theology: Emily Buonocore & Teagan McKenzie

Outstanding Achievement in Christian Ministries: Leah Boyd

Outstanding Achievement in Christian Ministries: Joshua Thompson

E. Stanley Jones Scholastic Award in Missions: Elijah Bachali

Association of Youth Ministry Educators Certification of Excellence: Cy Marshall

School of Communication Arts (Outstanding Seniors)

Communication: Robin Gericke

Theatre: Daniel Moye

Worship Arts: Thomas Mangione

Journalism: Robin Gericke

Media Communication: Nathan Vick

Communication Arts Character & Leadership Award: Meredith Brumfield

School of Education (Outstanding Seniors)

Elementary Education: Noel Endicott

Secondary Education: Drew Cooney

P-12 Education: Tinson Lam

APS Elementary Education: Tracey Gossage

English Department

Academic Excellence in English: Leah Bowshier

Academic Excellence in Creative Writing: Caroline Gates

Academic Excellence in English Education 8-12: Bethany Kelly

Academic Excellence in ESL: Jaci Spencer

Mathematics Department

Kenyon Science & Math Award: Bailey Crouch

Outstanding Senior in Mathematics: Dakota Owens

Secondary Math Teaching Award: Cameron Davis

Music Department

Outstanding Achievement Bachelor of Arts in Music: Hannah Stafford

Outstanding Achievement Bachelor of Science in Music Education: Tinson Lam

Psychology Department

Highest Academic Achievement in Psychology: Kaiha Hovance

Alan E. & Yvonne C. Moulton Scholarship: Kyra Christie

Lee Fisher Psi Award for Servant Leadership, Service, Character & Excellence: Shauna McKain

Science & Health Department (Outstanding Seniors)

Biology: Hunter Mitchell

Biochemistry: Angie Flores Madrid

Equine Studies: Ashley Whiteman

Allied Health: Sarah Wood

Hansel P. Shipps Medical Science Award: Bailey Crouch

History Department (Outstanding Seniors)

History: Josiah Barkdoll

Political Science: Julian Tellez

Social Studies Teacher Education: Drew Cooney

Department of Social Work

Outstanding Academic Achievement in Social Work: Erin McGuire

Excellence in Leadership & Service in Social Work: Lindsay Rennick

Roy L. Lauter Servant Leadership Award

Haleigh Davis

Allie Howard

Fionn McCartan

Noah Welch

Kamry Wells

Air Force ROTC Recognition

Cadet Seth Padgett

Army ROTC Recognition

Cadet Benjamin Workman

Cadet Brandon Snell

Cadet Nathan Spear

SEARCH Scholarship Symposium Subject Area Winners

Student Scholar of Excellence in the Arts: Katherine Sheets

Student Scholar of Excellence in the Humanities: Nathan Vick

Student Scholar of Excellence in the Sciences: Alex Ledford

2019 Overall Student Scholar of Excellence: Alex Ledford

Faculty Honors

Years of Service

5 Years

Dr. George Allen

Dr. Tim Campbell

Dr. Elizabeth Jones

Professor Nathan Miller

Professor Katrina Salley

10 Years

Dr. David Riel

25 years

Dr. Bobby Baldridge

Dr. Kim Lowry

30 years

Dr. Clair Budd

Dr. Sandra Gray

Dr. Martin Seitz

45 years

Dr. Harold Rainwater

Dr. Burnam Reynolds


Dr. Elizabeth Jones (Assistant Professor to Associate Professor)

Tenure Granted

Professor Barry Blair

Dr. Kevin Brown

Dr. Paul Hamilton

Dr. Erin Penner

Professor Joshua Smith

Terminal Degrees Earned

Dr. Andrew Reynolds (PhD, Social Work, University of Kentucky)