Shapemaximize playTriangle

LOUISVILLE, Ky.—Asbury University’s student newspaper, The Collegian, took home 40 awards — including 13 first-place awards — at the Kentucky Intercollegiate Press Association’s annual convention held Saturday at the Hyatt Regency in Louisville.

“I’m incredibly excited for our staff. We’ve worked really hard all year, and it’s wonderful to see that work pay off,” said senior Laura Laffoon, the executive editor of The Collegian. “This achievement is especially impressive because we had a large turnover in staff over the summer, but that never slowed us down. We trained a couple of days before school started and then dove right in. And we’ve been putting in 100 percent from then on out. So it’s very encouraging for our paper to win awards in nearly every category.”

The Asbury students made clean sweeps in several categories, including news photos, sports photos and analyses/special reports. Competing against schools such as Transylvania, Georgetown and all colleges and universities in Kentucky with 5,000 or fewer students, The Collegian also won best overall Web site.

“Asbury competes against some really incredible student newspapers,” said David Wheeler, who teaches journalism and has been the faculty advisor for the student newspaper at Asbury since 2007. “Several of the judges commented on how impressed they were by the quality of journalism produced by students at Kentucky colleges and universities. This year, I’m especially happy that Asbury swept the news photo and sports photo categories. It shows that we’re making great progress in building up our photojournalism emphasis.”

Entries were judged by professional journalists at newspapers from around the country, such as The Seattle Times and The Cincinnati Enquirer.

Asbury University Award Winners Include:

First Place:

  • Brownrygg Woolls – News Photo
  • Rebecca Baker – Sports Photo
  • Tyler, Rebecca, Zack – Photo Essay
  • Staff – Website Home Page
  • Staff – Overall Website
  • Anna Leon – Feature Headline
  • Staff – Sports Headline
  • Jordan Crouse – Sports News Story
  • Jordan Crouse – Sports Feature
  • Brison Harvey – Sports Column
  • Tyler Hoff – Front Page Layout
  • Laura Laffoon – Sports Page Layout
  • Zack Klemme – Analyses and Special Reports

Second Place:

  • Brownrygg Woolls – Feature Photo
  • Zack Wilson – Sports Photo
  • Ian McAfee – Informational Graphic
  • Tyler Hoff – News Photo
  • Staff – Sports Page Layout
  • Anna Giaritelli – News Story
  • Whitney Ward – Continuing News
  • Zack Klemme – Analyses and Special Reports
  • Riah Lawry – Personality Profile
  • Sarah Abiro – Sports Feature
  • Brittany Howard – Sports News Story
  • Brittany Howard – Sports Game Story
  • Laura Laffoon – Sports Headline

Third Place:

  • Ian McAfee – Comic Strip
  • Anna Leon – News Photo
  • Will Houp – Analyses and Special Reports
  • Anna Leon – Personality Profile
  • Staff – Continuing News
  • Kenton Sena – Sports Game Story
  • Kenton Sena – Sports Headline
  • Ben Joubert – Feature Headline
  • Leah Girard – News Headline
  • Tyler Hoff – Sports Photo Eric Shelton – Feature Photo

Honorable Mention:

  • Leah Girard – Analyses and Special Reports
  • Zack Klemme – Continuing News
  • Joey Nunez – Feature Photo