Asbury Honors Student Achievements During Academic Convocation Chapel – Asbury University
Shapemaximize playTriangle
Watch The College Tour
Contact Us

Asbury Honors Student Achievements During Academic Convocation Chapel

April 19, 2023

During Monday’s Academic Convocation Chapel, Asbury University honored numerous undergraduate seniors for their academic achievements.

“Part of the mission of Asbury University is to equip students, through academic excellence and spiritual vitality, so that students are prepared to engage society and advance the cause of Christ around the world,” said Provost Dr. Sherry Powers. “Today, we celebrate the many ways our community has demonstrated our collective commitment to these ideals as we highlight the academic achievements of some members of our student body.”

The award recipients included:

Ancient & Modern Languages

  • Outstanding Academic Achievement in Ancient Languages: Nicholas Guilbault
  • Outstanding Academic Achievement in French: Jackson Miller
  • Outstanding Academic Achievement in Spanish: Christina Collett

Art & Design

  • Senior Merit Art Award: Katherine Ivey
  • Art & Faith Award: Caitlin Donner

Dayton School of Business

  • Outstanding Graduate: Hope Odubena
  • Outstanding Graduate in Accounting: David Noel
  • Outstanding Graduate in Business Administration: Isabelle Miller
  • Outstanding Graduate in Finance: Nick Pidgorodetskiy
  • Outstanding Graduate in Marketing: Hayley Anderson
  • Outstanding Graduate in Sport Management: Nick Garnett
  • Professor’s Choice: Nathaniel Frank

Christian Studies & Philosophy

  • Outstanding Achievement in Bible & Theology: Isaiah Friedeman
  • Society of Professors in Christian Education Scholastic Achievement Award: Alexandra Presta
  • Association of Youth Ministry Education Scholastic Achievement Award: Camden Alcorn
  • Outstanding Achievement in Intercultural Studies: Kyla Rowell
  • Outstanding Achievement in Worship Arts: Ashley Schumacher

School of Communication Arts

  • Academic Excellence for Communication: Hannah Pack
  • Academic Excellence for Instructional Design: Michael Slonecker
  • Academic Excellence for Journalism: Alexandra Presta
  • Academic Excellence for Media Communication: Ashlynn Trevino
  • Academic Excellence for Theatre & Cinema Performance: Madison Sowers

School of Education

  • Outstanding Achievement in Traditional Elementary Education: Katie Simon
  • Outstanding Achievement in APS Elementary Education: Carrie Doyle
  • Outstanding Achievement in P-12 Education: Yaesung [Alex] Kim
  • Outstanding Achievement in Secondary Education: Madeleine Albertson
  • Outstanding Achievement in Middle School Education: Samuel Jeffers


  • Excellence in English: Carolina Trumpower
  • Excellence in Creative Writing: Hailey Small


  • Outstanding Senior in Mathematics: Josiah Smith


  • Outstanding Achievement in the Bachelor of Arts in Music Education: Yaesung [Alex] Kim
  • Outstanding Achievement in the Bachelor of Arts in Music: Ashley Schumacher


  • Moulton Scholars: Lauryn Britton, Kelcie Gremillion, Jezri Leong, and Della Nevitt
  • Highest Academic Achievement: Emma Ingalls
  • Lee Fisher Psi Chi Award for Leadership, Service, Academic Excellence, & Personal Character: Eva Albritton

Shaw School of Sciences

  • Hammell P. Shipps Medical Science Award: Abigail Fletcher
  • Judge J.W. & Wynelle Scott Deese Science Research Award: Alaina Zacharias
  • Kenyon Award: Lillie Lewis

College of Arts, Humanities & Social Sciences

  • Honors Graduate in History: Seokheon [Joseph] Lee
  • Honors Graduate in Political Science: EnPei [Peter] Li
  • Honors Graduate in Sociology: Hannah Noel Hopkins
  • Honors Graduate in Sociology: Rui Tong [Steven] Zhang

Social Work

  • Outstanding Academic Achievement: Mattie Anderson
  • Excellence in Service and Leadership: Reed Brunell
  • Social Work Initiative and Innovation: Tai-kuan Cloyd

2023 Roy L. Lauter Servant Leadership Award

  • Dakota Poole, Olyvia Shiels, Alyssa Grace Townsend, Rebekah Harry

Scholar Athletes

  • Carlie Alvis
  • Abigail Beers
  • Meagan Bellamy
  • Braeden Bisher
  • Madison Bryant
  • William Chesser
  • Jackson Cole
  • Grace Combs
  • Kevin Combs
  • Aaron Crombie
  • Caitlin Donner
  • Abigail Fletcher
  • Kiely Flynn
  • Isabella Gutierrez
  • Micah Harper
  • Danielle Hooper
  • Hannah Hopkins
  • Emma Ingalls
  • Katherine Ivey
  • Thomas Johnson
  • Yannick Landwehr
  • Lucas Lee
  • Lillie Lewis
  • Isabelle Miller
  • Hannah Morris
  • Olivia Palasek
  • Jaclynn Ruble
  • Erin Sexauer
  • Johnathan Shoulders
  • Maya Thomas
  • Carolina Trumpower
  • Brianna U’Wren
  • Owen Vick
  • Harley Wagoner
  • Elijah Wilder
  • Ian Wilkinson
  • Alaina Zacharias

Learn more about Asbury University’s commitment to academic excellence: