Asbury School Principals Recognized in Selective Leadership Cohort – Asbury University
Shapemaximize playTriangle
Watch The College Tour
Contact Us

Asbury School Principals Recognized in Selective Leadership Cohort

January 17, 2023

Adryanne Warren ’19

The Kentucky Association of School Administrators (KASA) announced the 2023 cohort of Kentucky Women in Educational Leadership (KWEL), in which six of the 38 school leaders included Asbury alumnae: Myram Brady ’18, Dana Cull ’14, Sharon Davis ’21, Tonya Means ’20, Tonya Roach ’20, and Adryanne Warren ’19. The application process for KWEL remains competitive and serves to recognize, support, and develop exceptional young female leaders in Kentucky’s schools and districts. To learn more about KASA, visit:  

“Asbury has had multiple candidates chosen in previous cohorts, but this is the first time we have had as many as six alumni chosen for inclusion,” Dr. Lewis Willian, assistant professor of Education and program director of Educational Leadership, said. “The fact that so many Asbury Educational Leadership candidates were selected speaks to the ongoing effective leadership preparation provided by the Asbury post-master’s program.”

Willian highlights the benefits of studying graduate-level education at Asbury.

“What sets our program apart is that post-master’s candidates receive three administrative certifications: Principal, Supervisor of Instruction, and Director of Pupil Personnel,” Willian said. “This unique mix of certifications allows a leadership candidate to serve in almost every leadership capacity in their district. Our candidates can begin serving immediately (while enrolled in our program) in any of these positions. They do not need to wait until their program is complete to begin service as an administrator.”

Adryanne Warren ’19 serves as Interim Principal at LaRue County Middle School.

“It is an honor to be part of KWEL,” Warren said. “I am grateful and humbled for the opportunity, and it makes me proud to represent women in education who are working hard and achieving goals.”

Tonya Roach ’20

Tonya Roach ’20 serves as the Assistant Principal at Mount Sterling Elementary School. She reflects on her time as an Asbury education student.

“Dr. Lewis Willian and Dr. John Casper both made a very positive impact on me during my time at Asbury,” Roach said. “Both the instruction and guidance that I received from them were stellar, and I am very thankful that I had the opportunity to learn from them.”

After a 30-year career as a teacher, principal, Kentucky Department of Education Recovery Leader and Central Office Administrator, Willian came to Asbury to recruit for and teach in the Graduate School of Education. He teaches school principal and research courses, notably in the Master of Arts in Principal Licensure program.

“Candidates come to Asbury to become educational leaders for multiple reasons,” Willian said. “Our program is rooted in the biblical principle that all students are ‘fearfully and wonderfully made’ and deserve to attend a school where they can be successful. There is a high employment rate of Asbury-prepared leadership candidates who are well-prepared and often selected for leadership roles in schools and districts across the state and around the world.”

Warren encourages educators to advance their careers through Asbury’s Principal Licensure Program.

“Asbury University has a top-notch Principal Licensure Program,” Warren said. “The professors are driven to ensure you reach your goals and give you everything you need to be successful.” 

In addition to offering the traditional and online undergraduate education programs, the Asbury University School of Education offers the Master of Arts degree (M.A.) in Principal Licensure, as well as three other M.A. degrees for certified teachers and the Master of Arts in Teaching (M.A.T.) degree for initial certification. Additional degree programs include the Education Specialist (Ed.S.) degree in Principal Licensure with Instructional Supervisor (dual licensure) and certifications for Director of Pupil Personnel, Instructional Supervisor, and School Superintendent. Learn more: