An Asbury Prof's Guide to C.S. Lewis

WILMORE, Ky. — Autumn is an exciting season this year for fans of C.S. Lewis and J.R.R. Tolkien, two of the world’s most popular Christian and fantasy authors. On Nov. 22 (the 50th anniversary of his death), Lewis will be memorialized in Poets Corner in Westminster Abbey, and Tolkien fans have already begun vigorous online discussions in anticipation of the film release of “The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug” on December 13.

Dr. Devin Brown shares his research and passion for C.S. Lewis through books and speaking engagements around the United States.
Dr. Devin Brown shares his research and passion for C.S. Lewis through books and speaking engagements around the United States.

Curious about the men causing all this fuss? Asbury English Professor Devin Brown can help. He has published numerous essays and scholarly articles on C.S. Lewis and J.R.R. Tolkien and has written chapters for six books, including a major chapter on “The Screwtape Letters” for the four-volume series “C.S. Lewis: Life, Works, and Legacy” released by Praeger Publishers in 2007. In 2008 he served as Scholar-in-Residence for the Summer Seminar held at The Kilns, the Oxford home of C.S. Lewis.

Further resources include the following:

  • Brown recently released “A Life Observed: A Spiritual Biography of C.S. Lewis.” It is available in a special hardcover edition by Crossings Book Club and as a recorded book by Oasis Audio.
  • Hobbit Lessons,” Brown’s collection of “troll-sized” spiritual messages based on Tolkien’s Middle Earth, is available in paper and electronic versions at Abingdon Press.
  • On Nov. 8-10, Brown will be a plenary speaker at the C.S. Lewis Foundation’s Fall Conference in Houston.
  • On Nov. 13, Brown will speak about his Lewis biography with Janet Parshall on her radio show, “In the Market with Janet Parshall.” To listen, visit her site and click “Listen Live.”
  • On Nov. 21, Brown will be part of a discussion panel on C.S. Lewis at the Forester Lecture Series at Huntington University.
  • On Nov. 22, Brown will be the featured speaker in The Lyceum Series on Faith and the Academy at Grace College.
  • On Dec. 5, Brown will join the staff of Asbury’s Kinlaw Library to host a seminar titled “J.R.R. Tolkien: His Life and Letters.” On display will be three original letters by Tolkien.

Bookmark and Share