Asburians Shine in 2016 Emmy Awards – Asbury University
Shapemaximize playTriangle

July 19, 2016

Prof. Doug Smart and two students posing for a photo
Professor Doug Smart (center) poses for a photo with previous recipients of the Student Production Award.

WILMORE, Ky. — With nine nominations for Regional Emmy Awards, four Student Production Awards and a media scholarship award, Asbury University continues its tradition of excellence in the Ohio Valley Chapter of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (NATAS). (See below for a full list of nominations and awards.)

Gatekeeper of the regional and national Emmy Awards, also NATAS offers opportunities for college students to submit their work in 19 regional chapters across the country.

This year, Asbury Professor Doug Smart received two Emmy Award nominations for “Friends Like You,” a full-length sitcom episode produced by Asbury’s Sitcom Production Class, directed by Smart. This is the fourth year that the sitcom has been nominated for an Emmy Award, and because the nomination applies to the program as a whole, the students involved with “Friends Like You” will be part of the professional awards as well as the student awards. Click here for a behind-the-scenes look at last year’s episode of “Friends Like You.”

An industry veteran as well as an educator, Smart has more than 20 years of experience as a professional TV director and broadcaster at the network level in Hollywood. Throughout his career, Smart produced episodes of “Golden Girls,” “Benson,” “Newhart” and many other popular shows.

“Friends Like You” isn’t the only award with an Asbury connection this year. Asbury alumni have also been nominated for seven Emmy Awards in various categories and current students have received four Student Production Awards.

Additionally, Sarah Owens ’18 has been awarded the Ohio Valley Chapter’s annual David J. Clarke Memorial Scholarship, a $3,000 grant. Owens was selected out of a record number of entries from colleges, universities and high schools across the chapter’s four-state region. 

“The NATAS awards are the highest television production award possible in our region, and it is an incredible honor for our students and alumni to win this recognition,” said Dr. Jim Owens, dean of Asbury’s School for Communication Arts. “Having these awards on a resume helps our students stand out in the competitive job market. Some of our students who have won this award in the past, accepting it in front of more than 500 professional media professionals, have been offered jobs on the spot.”

The following Asbury students, faculty and alumni will be among those recognized during the Ohio Valley Chapter’s 52nd annual Emmy Awards Gala on Aug. 6:


Regional Emmy Award Nominees


  • “Friends Like You,” Episode #707, “Baby’s in Black” — Asbury University, Doug Smart
  • “Kentucky Muse: Kentucky Chautauqua,” KET — Matthew Grimm ‘02, Nick Helton

Public/Current/Community Affairs Program

  • “Hope In The Face Of Addiction,” Lexington Fayette Urban County Government, GTV3 — Sherelle Pierre, Neil Noah ‘97


  • Commonwealth Credit Union: “We Love Members,” — Oculus Studios, Brock Smith ‘08, Whit Bussey ‘08
  • Life In The Soil, Oculus Studios Brock Smith ‘08, Whit Bussey ‘08

Writer – Program

  • “Friends Like You, “Episode #606, “Ain’t She Sweet” — Asbury University Doug Smart

Graphic Arts

  • “Life In The Soil” — Oculus Studios Brock Smith, Whit Bussey ‘08


  • “Life In The Soil” — Oculus Studios Brock Smith ‘08


  • Commonwealth Credit Union, “We Make it Possible: Home Loans” — Oculus Studios, Brock Smith ‘08, Whit Bussey ‘08

Student Production Award Winners

Long Form — Fiction

  • “Box of Dust,” Asbury University: Philip Lambert, Writer; Amanda Secen, Producer; Ken Lutz, Editor; Bryan Garrett, Director of Photography; Alyssa Driscoll, Production Designer; Ian Huxham, Sound Designer; Jake Halm, Composer; Jonathan Heffley, Lead Actor; Allison Acuff, Lead Actress; Sarah Bosler, Costuming; Julia Chin, Assistant Director; Craig McElwee, Key Grip; Jacob Klein, Advisor

Animation/Graphics/Special Effects

  • “The Wish,” Asbury University: Aaron Winneroski, Animation/Graphics; Levi Simonton, Music & Audio Effects; Doug Walker, Advisor
  • “Story,” Asbury University: Cody Nowels, Animator; Ellen Packer, Key Animator, Character Design; Levi Simonton, Music & Audio Effects; Sarah Leckie, Advisor


  • “Box of Dust,” Asbury University: Philip Lambert, Director; Jacob Klein, Advisor

Student Production Award Honorable Mentions

Short Form Fiction

  • “On The Other Hand,” Asbury University: Josh Bedsole, Producer/Director of Photography; Aaron Bohn, Director; Ken Lutz, Editor; Jacob Halm, Composer; Jacob Klein, Advisor 
  • “Drowning in My Own Discontent,” Asbury University: Josh Bedsole, Producer/Cinematographer; Tyler Horn, Director; Andrew King, Composer; Sarah Hogencamp, Advisor 
  • “God, Todd, and the Devil,” Asbury University: Cody Nowels, Director; Cody Nowels, Writer; Heather Hollingshead, Producer; Josh Magee, Lead Actor; Gabe Chandler, Lead Actor; Ryan Brightwell, Lead Actor; Paul Sigler, Cinematographer; Levi Simonton, Composer; Jacob Klein, Advisor 

Short Form Non-Fiction

  • “Birdhouse Bill (and his rainbow rocks),” Asbury University: Aaron Winneroski, Director; Landers Pannell, Director; Doug Walker, Advisor 
  • “Jesus Prom,” Asbury University: Sarah Bosler, Cinematographer; Kelsey Bundy, Director; Amanda Secen, Producer; Greg Bandy, Advisor 

Sports – Live Event

  • “2016 Zweifel/Pritchett Classic Broadcast,” Asbury University: Vada Bennett, Producer; Andrew King, Director; Cody Logan, TD; Jordan Lunsford, Camera Operator; Josiah Downey, Camera Operator; Bryan Garrett, Camera Operator; Lucas Green, Camera Operator; Tanner Perkins, A1; Ken Lutz, Graphics Creation & Operator; Grant Porter, EVS Operator; Sheridan Swathwood, Set Director; Spencer Smith, Set Producer; Jim Owens, Advisor 


To learn more about Asbury’s Media Communication program, visit: