Shapemaximize playTriangle

By Matt Tidman, a senior from Wilmore

kipa.jpgWILMORE, KY- The Collegian , Asbury College’s student run newspaper, won 35 awards at the Kentucky Intercollegiate Press Association’s (KIPA) annual awards ceremony, March 1.

“I’m very proud of the staff,” said David Wheeler, instructor of journalism and Collegian faculty advisor. “The KIPA awards this year were a showcase for Asbury talent. In our division, we competed against both public and private colleges, some of whom are two or three times our size. But we still won 10 first-place awards, and 35 awards in all.”

Wheeler said that some of the more noteworthy awards for the newspaper staff include investigative reporting, editorial writing, feature writing and sports writing. Photographers for the paper also swept the feature photo category, winning first, second and third place.

The awards are for papers produced from January 2007 to December 2007. Asbury College is considered a Division B school because its enrollment is less than 5,000. Members of the current Collegian staff also won top honors in their division for the copy editing contest and the deadline writing contest.
“I think the variety of awards speaks to the versatility of our staff,” Wheeler said. “I think we turned a few heads at the conference.”

Students and recent graduates recognized include:

First place:

  • Feature Story, Michaela Lee Riley ’08
  • Feature Photo, Brooke Collins ’07
  • Investigative Reporting, Anna Haggard ’09
  • Deadline Writing Contest, Anna Haggard ’09
  • Copy Editing Deadline Contest, Matthew Tidman ’08
  • Editorials, Collegian Staff
  • House Ad, Collegian Staff
  • Advertising Campaign, Collegian Staff
  • Sports Game Story, Tyler Young ’08
  • Sports Feature Story, Tyler Young ’08

Second place:

  • Investigative Reporting, Hannah Horton Jones ’07 (Alumnus)
  • News Photo, Jade Sheldon ’10
  • Feature Photo, Jon Cypher ’10
  • Editorial Cartoons, Robert Coleman ’08
  • Sports Column, Shane Tracy ’09
  • General Interest Column, Zach Stone ’08
  • Feature Headline, Collegian Staff
  • Advertising Campaign, Collegian Staff
  • Advertising Art, Collegian Staff
  • House Ad, Collegian Staff
  • Sports Page Layout, Collegian Staff

Third place:

  • Sports Photo, Drew Lesch-Wragge ’07
  • Feature Photo, Jade Sheldon ’10
  • Reviews, Melissa Deaver ’08
  • Sports Feature Story, Hannah Horton Jones ’07
  • Original Illustration, Drew Lesch-Wragge ’07
  • Sports News Story, Seth Littrell ’09
  • Feature Page Layout, Collegian Staff
  • Overall Layout, Collegian Staff
  • News Headline, Collegian Staff
  • Advertising Art, Collegian Staff

Honorable Mention:

  • Reviews, David Vosburg ’08
  • Original Illustration, Bethany Haegele ’07
  • Sports Photo, Justin Bowsher ’10
  • Front Page Layout, Collegian Staff