Asbury Announces Recipients of 2014 Alumni Awards

WILMORE, Ky. — Asbury University is pleased to announce the recipients of this year’s Alumni Awards, the University’s highest recognition of alumni achievement and distinction.

Asbury University ReunionDr. Emerson Gilbert, Class of 1959
Gilbert's contributions to the field of journalism are most visible in the Hannah News Service, an organization specializing in Ohio state government news and documents, which he helped found in 1986 and currently serves as a member of its Board of Directors. He has also served as President of Saginaw (Mich.) Osteopathic Hospital and Vice President of Administration and Student Services at Saginaw Valley State University.

Dr. Jim Owens, Class of 1979
Owens is the founding Dean of Asbury’s School of Communication Arts. Known as the “father” of the Broadcast Training Program for the broadcast division of the International Olympic Committee, Olympic Broadcasting Services, he has served the field of education by helping to train nearly 10,000 international students and personally connecting Asbury alumni with contacts and opportunities to succeed in media.

Mark Whitworth, Class of 1984
Exercising creativity in the field of sports management, Whitworth has served on the staff of the Southeastern Conference for more than 25 years, most recently as the Associate Commissioner for Men’s Basketball. As Associate Commissioner of External Affairs, he was the SEC’s primary contact for ESPN, and he chaired the conference’s 75th anniversary committee. He currently serves on the University’s Board of Trustees.

Distinguished Young Alum: Lara Mayes Johnson, Class of 1999
Johnson serves as the Video Channel Producer of The Dave Ramsey Show in Nashville, Tenn. She joined the production team in 1999, wasting no time after graduation in impacting the world through media communication.

The University has recognized outstanding alumni with the A Awards since 1946. In 2000, the Distinguished Young Alum Award was added to honor an alumnus under 40 years of age and out of school a minimum of five years. Profiles of past winners are available here.

These Award recipients will be recognized at 7:30 p.m. on June 21 at this summer’s annual alumni gathering — Snapshots: Asbury University Reunion 2014 — in a program that is free and open to all.

Bookmark and Share