Bishop Wayne Clymer '39 - 2009 A Award Recipient

Bishop Wayne Clymer, class of 1939, received the A Award in 2009. He served the Minnesota Area of the United Methodist Church from 1972 to 1980 and the Iowa area from 1980 to 1984.  Upon his retirement, he was asked to serve as the liasion for the Council of Bishops to the theological seminaries.  Prior to his election to the episcopacy, Bishop Clymer was pastor in New York City, and for 25 years devoted himself to theological education.  He was also professor, dean and president of Evangelical Theological Seminary in Naperville, IL (Now Garrett-Evangelical theological Seminary in Evanston, IL).

Bishop Clymer was educated at Asbury College (B.A.), Columbia University (M.A.), Union Theological Seminary (M.Div) and New York University (Ph.D).  Five colleges and universities have granted him honorary degrees.

He represented his denomination in the Fourth Conference on Faith and Order; was five times a delegate to the Oxford Institute on Methodist Theological Studies; and from 1976-84 was president of the United Methodist Committee on Relief.  In this capacity he visited numerous countries throughout the world investigating refugee resettlement, disaster relief, and projects to alleviate hunger.  In 1979 he was member of the USA delegation to the United Nations Conference on Refugess in Geneva, Switzerland.

Bishop Clymer was preacher for a three-month period on NBC's program, "The Art of Living," and in 1970 was the speaker on the national radio program, "The Protestant Hour."  His Denman Lectures were published under the title, Membership Means Discipleship.  He is also the Author of a book of sermons titled, Affirmation.

In 1939, he married to Hellen E. Graves, Asbury College classmate of 1939.  They celebrated nearly 60 years of marriage before her passing in 1999.  They had two sons: Kenton, head of the history department, Northern Illinois University; and Richard, Senior Principle (Emeritus), Hastings High School, Hastings, MN.  He is blessed with six grandchildren and 10 great-grandchildren.  In 2000, he was married to Virginia R. Schoenbohm.


Other 2009 A Award Recipients:

Dr. Dorothy Barbo '54
Mr. Harold Rainwater '69