Dr. Mildred Stratton '47 Chapman - 1997 A Award Recipient

Bio from 1997:

 Growing up on a farm in nearby Mercer County, this Bluegrass native dreamed of becoming a school teacher.  During the years of the Great Depression, she played school, first with her dolls, then, later, with the neighborhood children.  During her college career, Asbury's faculty discovered one of Kentucky's brightest students.

After completeing her studies with the Panters of '47, Mildred Chapman returned to her hometown high school to fulfill her dream for teaching.  The classroom environment challenged her as well as encouraged her to stretch for higher goals.  Graduate studies at the University of Kentucky opened the door to a career as a college teacher.  Three Christian colleges--Asbury, Marion, and Taylor--all benefited from her scholarship and leadership in literature and teacher education programs.  This alumna was the first graduate student in education to receive a Kentucky Research Foundation Fellowship in 1959 for her doctoral studies.

In 1970, Dr. Chapman joined the education faculty at Marion (now Indiana Wesleyan University).  Her achievements in teacher training positioned her to gain an appointment on the faculty at nearby Taylor University.  After 22 years of sterling service in the profession of being a "teacher of teachers", the Taylor Alumni Association selected her as the "Distinguished Professor of the Year."

Mildred Chapman is honored for her outstanding record as a professional in the field of education.  Frustrated that she could not find a suitable textbook for inexperienced teachers in training, she wrote her own.  The resut, Writing for Teachers, has become a standard in the classroom, part of her legacy she leaves to future teachers whereever it is used.  The Christian College Consortium selected her to be the director of "Writing Across the Curriculum," giving further opportunity to advance higher education.  Her academic leadership includes the American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education, the Indiana Council and the National Council of Teachers of English, and the accrediting agency, the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools.

The Christian witness of this alumna never wavered in the arena of educational issues and leadership of women in higher education.  Taylor's Sesquicentennial hisotry, published in 1996, recognizes Dr. Chapman as one of their institution's "women of distinction."


Other 1997 A Award Recipients:

Mrs. Diane Lemasters '72 Knippers
Dr. Hugh Frazer ‘52